Skip to Main navigation Skip to Left navigation Skip to Main content Skip to Footer

University of Minnesota Extension

Extension > Extension in your Community > Benton > 4-H > Articles > 58th Annual Leader's Banquet

print icon email icon share icon

58th Annual Leader's Banquet

The 58th Annual Benton County 4-H Leader's Banquet was held Sunday, October 2nd at St. John's Lutheran Church in Popple creek.  The event signified the end of the 4-H year and was an appreciation dinner and awards program for 4-H youth and adult leaders.  About 80 youth, adults and special guests were in attendance and enjoyed a fabulous chicken dinner catered by the Schmit Haus.  Guests were also able to enjoy the gorgeous fall weather on a hayride, as well as a cozy bonfire with s'mores and apple cider.

Highlights of the evening included an encouraging 4-H Leader's Response from Cheryl Scapanski who has been a dedicated volunteer and leader in 4-H for 16 years.  Recognition pins signifying the number of years in leadership were presented by the 4-H youth leaders/ambassadors.

First Year Leaders were:

Julie Bukowski & Nathen Pflipsen - Central MN Llama Club; Krista Kuklok - Cornerstone Clovers; Brent Betker - Elk River Critters; Kelly & Shannon Nelson, Myron Gleisner, Susan & Tim Olson - Graham; Mandy Spiczka - Granite Clouds; Annette Iburg - Minden; Marcy & Tristan Reding, Mitchell & Tasha Ackerman - Pioneers; Deborah Nelson & Michelle Rosenberger - Running Rapids, Konnie Sakry - St. Pat's and Wendy Nelson - Shooting Stars.

Fifth Year Leaders recognized:  DeWaine & Judy Fenna - Busy Bees; Cynthia Schneider - Duelm and Stacie Morris - St. Pat's.

Those receiving the tenth year leaders awards were Brenda & brian Kaschmitter from Pioneers 4-H Club.

Barb & Jeremy Larson and Tracy Hunt from the 79'ers received the fifteenth year award.

Twenty Fifth year leader pin was Awarded to Robin Burton of the 79'ers and the thirtieth year leaders were David Templin from the 79'ers and Larry Sakry of St. Pat's.

Special awards were presented as well.  Sharon Beehler presented the Outstanding Service Award to her son Kenny Beehler.  His dedication to Benton County 4-H is immeasurable.

Becky Fread presented the Friend of 4-H to Mark & Pam Chmielewski of Stoney Brook Farms for contributions and help with produce for the 4-H Lunchstand

Donita Beehler presented the 4-H Leader Achievement Award to June Hirdler for her many years of 4-H service, including club volunteer and State Fair chaperone.

Tim Olson presented the 4-H Pioneer award to Ryan Sand for his work in starting up the Shooting Sports/Wildlife Program again.  There had been no program for a number of years in the county and Tim was instrumental in getting the program up and running.

The Installation of Officers ceremony was conducted with Rylee Hackett as President, Leanna Schneider - Vice President, Danielle Belanger - Secretary, Adam Scapanski - Youth Treasurer and Sam Morris as Parliamentarian.

The program ended with a door prize drawing with gifts provided by different 4-H club.

Benton County 4-H is blessed to have dedicated, passionate and hard-working volunteers that contribute to the success of our 4-H program.  Thank you volunteers and leaders for all you do for the organization and our youth.  Sunday evening was an excellent opportunity to celebrate our leaders and their accomplishments.

  • © Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.