Skip to Main navigation Skip to Left navigation Skip to Main content Skip to Footer

University of Minnesota Extension

Extension > Extension in your Community > Murray > County Agriculture Educator > Articles > Murray/Cottonwood Counties DHIA awards presented for 2016

print icon email icon share icon

Murray/Cottonwood Counties DHIA awards presented for 2016

Murray/Cottonwood Counties Dairy Herd Improvement Association (DHIA) award banquet and annual meeting was held at the Pizza Ranch in Slayton on March 20, 2017.  Entertainment for the evening was provided by Joe LeTendre of Slayton.

Dairy production awards for 2016 were presented by Extension Educator Melissa Runck. 

Premier Dairy Award went to Bill & Merri Post of Chandler for the highest three-year average of 25,928 pounds milk, 963 pounds fat, 794 pounds protein, and $4,682 dollar value.

Top Herd Award went to Thistle Dew Dairy (Bruce & Jane Pederson, Westbrook) with 27,056 pounds milk, 1,038 pounds fat, 834 pounds protein, and $4,985 dollar value.

Dean & Elizabeth Johnson, Heron Lake, received first place in Low Somatic Cell Count with a score of 1.8; Kidman Dairy of Balaton (Dick and Wade) took second place with 2.2.

Rylaarsdam Dairy of Chandler received Most Improved Herd Award with an increase of 2,475 lbs. milk, 47 pounds fat, 71 pounds of protein, and $357 dollar value.

Top Cow (#345) was awarded to Van Eck Dairy of Ruthton (Don & Cody). She produced 32,451 pounds milk, 1,757 pounds fat, 935 pounds protein, and dollar value was $6,811.

Top Two-Year-Old Cow (#1333) award went to Vander Wal Dairy of Slayton (Greg) with 30,765 pounds of milk, 1,182 pounds fat, 970 pounds protein, and $5,736 dollar value.

Lifetime Cow awards were given to Bar-D-Holstein (Dan & Trish Dysthe, Slayton) for cow #804 with 282,242 pounds of milk and cow #781 with 276,691 pounds of milk, Vander Wal Dairy for cow #3260 with277,845 pounds of milk, and Rylaarsdam Dairy for cow #1596 with 254,217 pounds of milk.

Door prizes and cash contributions for the event were received from from AgStar Financial-Chris Hein, Chandler Feed, Pipestone Vet Clinic-Dr. Brett Kroeze, Blue Hilltop-Lake Wilson, Mike Jouwstra Milk Hauling, Kim Schlecht, Carolyn Bootsma-AMPI, JPW Nutrition-Jason Prins, Crop Insurance Specialists-Jan Kluis, Slayton, Accelerated Genetics-Kenny Timm, State Bank of Chandler-Doran Christoffels, ABS- Bruce Iverson, Edgerton Vet Clinic, Central Valley Dairy Supply, Agropur, Mike’s Milk Hauling, and MN Select Sires.

The 2017 Murray/Cottonwood Counties DHIA Board of Directors include: President – Greg Vander Wal, Slayton; Vice President – Wade Kidman, Balaton; Secretary-Wayne Spielman, Westbook; Treasurer– April Post, Lake Wilson; Directors – Grant Post, Lake Wilson; and Dean Johnson, Heron Lake.

Photo Caption:  2016 Murray-Cottonwood Counties D.H.I.A. award winners (L-R) Wade Kidman, Dan Dysthe, Cody Van Eck, Virgil Rylaarsdam, Bill Post, Greg Vander Wal, Dean, Elizabeth, and Ethan Johnson, and Bruce & Jane Pederson.


  • © Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy