University of Minnesota Extension

Extension > Extension in your Community > Grant > 4-H > Articles > Grant County 4-H Members, Volunteers and Supporters Recognized at Annual Awards and Recognition Banquet

print icon email icon share icon

Grant County 4-H Members, Volunteers and Supporters Recognized at Annual Awards and Recognition Banquet

First Year 4-H Members: Logan Volker, Micah Holmes, Brody Brunkow, and Annika Brunkow

On Sunday, September 25th Grant County 4-H met at the Elbow Lake Community Center to honor youth and adults for their contributions over the past year to the 4-H Program.  We enjoyed a meal catered by Hans House Restaurant of Elbow Lake.

To start our awards presentation, first year 4-H members received a 4-H neck ribbon and a one year membership pin. Our first year 4-Hers were Annika Brunkow (Do & Dare), Brody Brunkow (Do & Dare), Haley Fleischfresser (Do & Dare), Alivia Green, Kaylyn Hedstrom (Do & Dare), Anissa Henning (Redwood), Haley Henning (Redwood), Linux Hildebrandt (Do & Dare), Micah Holmes (Pomme de Terre Eagles), Eli McArdle, Sydnie McNally, Wylie McNally, Racquel Olson, Sara Olson, Aiden Porter (Do & Dare), Kennedy Porter (Do & Dare), Annabella Vargas-Staebler  (Do & Dare), and Logan Volker (Do & Dare). Second through fourteenth year 4-H members received membership pins.  We recognized our 4-H Graduates with a certificate and award, Daryn Gisi (Do & Dare),  Allyson Coleman (Do and Dare), who is attending Alexandria Tech for Communication and Art Desgin, and Ruth-Aleeza Holmes (Pomme de Terre Eagles),  who is attend University of Minnesota Duluth for Psychology. 

Grant County 4-H participation certificates were given to the 38 members who participated in the Grant County Fair in July. Along with these certificates members were presented with a small award based on how many projects they exhibited that received Champion honors. Additionally, Grant County 4-H achievement certificates were given to youth who received a grand or reserve champion at the Grant County Fair. Members who received Champion honors this year also received a binder to hold their Champion certificates.

Members who exhibited livestock during the fair participate in Herdsmanship. Members who obtained the top scores in each species were awarded an achievement certificate. The highest scores were for Horse, Daryn Gisi (Do & Dare), for Beef Cattle, Allyson Coleman (Do & Dare), for Dairy Cattle, Shawn Klatt (Pomme de Terre Eagles), for Sheep, Kilee Blume (Do & Dare), for Swine, Victoria Floden (Redwood), for Poultry, Tia Ahner (Redwood), for Rabbit Brianna Anderson (Do & Dare), for goat Annika Brunkow (Do & Dare), and for Llama, Shawn Klatt (Pomme de Terre Eagles).

We honored our members who participated in the Blue Ribbon Auction during the Grant County Fair. Members received a framed picture of their project, blue ribbon, and the individuals or business that purchased their Blue Ribbons. The participants in the Blue Ribbon Auction were Daryn Gisi, Allyson Coleman, Annika Brunkow, Haley Volker, Allissa Volker, Andrew Fate, Cole Blume, Addison Blume, Kilee Blume, Shawn Klatt, Victoria Floden, and Tia Ahner. The businesses and individuals that purchased a Blue Ribbon were also honored with a Certificate of Appreciation. Those businesses and individuals include, Kensington Bank, Eagle Bank, Amundson Peterson, Wagner Company, Runestone Electric, CHS New Horizons, Pederson’s Agri-Service, Dale Blume, Monty Itzen, and Maury Floden.

We honored two Friend of 4-H Award recipients. . Our first recipient was Catherine Anderson – Barnes. Catherine serves as the Grant County Nutritionist. Our second Friend of 4-H was Brad Larson. Brad nominated Grant County 4-H for the Monsanto’s America’s Farmers Grow Community Fund which is Farmer Directed. We recognized two 4-H Volunteer of the Year Award recipients. Our first recipient was Kelly Gerber. Our second recipient was Wanda Haberer. The Outstanding Alumni of the Year was awarded to Melody Lundin.

The final awards that were presented were for the Outstanding Animal Science and Outstanding General Exhibit Member. The Outstanding Animal Science award was presented to Allyson Coleman of the Do & Dare 4-H Club.  The Outstanding General Exhibit award went to Daryn Gisi of the Do & Dare 4-H Club. 

Congratulations to all of our 4-H Members, Volunteers and Supporters!

  • © Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.